River Wear Commissioners
(Formerly St Thomas Street Business Centre)
4 St Thomas Street, Sunderland SR1 1NW
An office building with a fascinating past and huge historical importance to the city.
The River Wear Commissioners was originally established in 1717 to convert the harbour and lower river and improve navigation to suit the needs of the developing coal trade.
The Wear Commissioners Building, built in 1907 as their head office, is a superb grade two listed period building in a high profile position in the city centre. As Sunderland’s finest Edwardian building and constructed from Scottish red granite and Durham sandstone, with no fewer than five separate varieties of marble and Cuban mahogany, it is an impressive and prestigious office location.
Currently the building is closed. Anyone interested in this redevelopment opportunity should contact Paul Stewart on 07525 134 531 or email email@example.com.